Math and the Internet


I remember enjoying math. Admittedly, it was a long time ago, before there was long division or variables or parabolas. The simplicity of addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division meant that I could always rely on my parents for help with any homework I was struggling with. This pattern carried through into about seventh grade, where I was put into an advanced math course.

In my school district, this meant that the entire seventh grade math curriculum was shoved into the first month of school, and the entire eighth grade math curriculum into the remaining time. If your average dropped below a 65, you would be put back into regular math.

Don't let math overwhelm you! (Image Credit:http://www.mosaictutoring.com/academic-help/math-tutoring/)

From day one, I struggled in the course. The pace was fast, the math was hard, and my parents were pretty much helpless when faced with these new math problems. As September turned into October, I knew I was in trouble. I begged my parents to put me back into seventh grade math, but they insisted that I stick it out and keep trying. Eventually, I stopped doing my homework and sabotaged myself back into the normal paced math class.

Now, it certainly isn’t my parent’s fault that I didn’t continue with advanced math. After all, I gravitated towards English and social studies and somehow convinced myself that I just wasn’t good at math. The fact that my homework had gotten to a level that my parents couldn’t easily help me with was only incidental.

However, having YouTube around would definitely have helped me get through advanced math. A quick search of the website reveals plenty of people who are able to walk you through almost any problem, from trigonometry to algebra. Watching somebody complete the steps of a math problem is important, and the visualization that a video provides can help out kids who don’t respond as well to sample problems in the textbook. YouTube can also help take the pressure off of parents to remember how to do math they may not have done since their own days in high school. YouTube also lets children take charge of helping themselves on their homework, rather than leaving it up to their parents or guardians.

2 Comments

Filed under Academic Advice, Learning Resources, My Experiences

2 responses to “Math and the Internet

  1. YouTube maths videos aren’t necessarily the best maths resource. Some of them are really, really good, but others aren’t as fantastic. Try looking at things like Khan Academy, or question and answer sites for maths such as my own blog (MathematicalMischief), or OpenStudy (I think that’s the name) for more personalized assistance.

Leave a Reply

