Double (Or Triple!) Your Reading Fun


Growing up, I loved reading, which probably explains why I became an English literature major. My favorite kinds of books were, without fail, those that came in a series. Whether it was C.S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of NarniaJ.K. Rowling’s Harry PotterLucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gablesor Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, books that told a story over multiple texts were my favorite. However, the fun of reading a series doesn’t have to end just because you’re an adult.  Even today, in my twenties, the most exciting reading experience I’ve had in recent memory was making my way through Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games. This excellent trilogy kept me up until four in the morning, and it’s no surprise that I finished all three books in less than two days. It may be slightly uncouth to say this as an English MA student, but I love reading young adult fiction. The story lines are often excellent, and the authors use words that don’t have you scrambling for a dictionary. Young adult books have been, for me, a literary escape. I still remember when the final Harry Potter book was released, and the feeling of turning the final page.

The magic only increases with the amount of books written! (Image Credit:http://momreviews.net/2010/06/03/giveaway-harry-potter-books-box-set-two-winners/)

In a series, you have a long time to get familiar with a story line, characters, and an author. That sort of relationship doesn’t have to end as an adult. Jane Austen may not have written a series, but her books come together as a great literary canon that has been celebrated in print and film since their creation. Try reading an author’s entire body of work rather than just one or two selections.

However, all good things must come to an end, and so it is with even the longest of literary series. Fortunately for those of us who fall in love with the worlds created by a series, many book series are made into movies. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m finally going to get around to watching that Harry Potter series.

3 Comments

Filed under Learning Resources, My Experiences

3 responses to “Double (Or Triple!) Your Reading Fun

  1. True, the magic only increases the amount of books written.

  2. Regards for this post, I am a big fan of this internet site would like to keep updated.

  3. Reading, watching movies or plays, or comparable activities that may bring inspiration. 845987

Leave a Reply

