Sunday Morning Shout Out


Cough, Cough, Sigh….Cough, Cough.

This is the current sound of our house with the little ones and maybe yours right now, too. It is flu season. This particular flu strain seems to be the one of stuffy noses and a desert, dry cough. Sigh….

When it comes to cold and cold prevention, I go to my kitchen first and foremost. I try to up the vegetable and fruit intake. I focus on increasing the amount of Vitamin C and other essential vitamins and nutrients in my family’s diet.  In an ideal world we all get our right amount of nutrients and vitamins in our diet. Yet as we know, children in particular are not perfect eaters.  Thus, when the oranges, orange juice, tomatoes, broccoli, strawberries, or other foods that are high in Vitamin C are not being eaten in sufficient amounts, I consider supplements.    Medline Plus, a service of the National Institute of Health and U.S. National Library of Medicine, lists appropriate Vitamin C supplement levels for all age ranges along with risks and possible other counter indications.

The next thing I do is make chicken soup.  Is it the comfort factor of chicken soup or does chicken soup really have curative properties? Grandmothers and scientists say chicken soup is powerful stuff! In 2000, a group of scientists studied chicken soup. They found that the ingredients in homemade chicken soup and some store bought chicken soups posse’s anti-inflammatory properties that can soothe sore throats and possibly lessen mucus production, coughs, and stuffy noses.  They also noted that there might be a “love effect” of chicken soup. If someone makes us a batch for our cold, their love and concern can also have curative properties.

My grandmother always had chicken soup in her house and quite often boiling on the stove. I do not remember her having very many colds! I do remember going to her house when we had them, though.

After the soup, please hand me some garlic. If I am sautéing some for a recipe for flavor, I will use more! It will go into the pizza crust and pasta sauce in extra amounts.   (I am not at the point of eating it raw, yet). In the book The Healing Power of Garlic, author Paul Bergner looks at the scientifically proven healing attributes of garlic.   Garlic has powerful antiviral, antimicrobial, and antifungal effects, making it a power house to combat colds, the flu, skin problems, and many diseases and illnesses.

So sure medicine is sometimes in order, rest is mandatory, but in our house food and nutrition tends to be first…more tissues please…remedy and comfort I provide.

Cough, Cough, Sigh….Cough, Cough…Sniffle, Sniffle.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Experiences

Leave a Reply

