Put Away Your Laptop!


I spend way too much time in front of my laptop. I use it to work on my school assignments; I use it to watch television shows and movies; I use it to stay in touch with friends, family, and business associates; I use it to write and post my blog entries; and I can even use it to shop. By the end of the day, I spend more time in front of my laptop than away from it. That realization has not been a pleasant one.

It doesn’t help that laptops have become sort of all-purpose tools, or that working from home means that I feel like I need to be constantly checking my e-mail. Really, the only distance I get from my laptop comes when I’m asleep. The idea of “giving up” my laptop is impossible. I need to write my papers in Microsoft Word, I need to conduct my paper research on the Internet, I need to e-mail my professor the final copy through e-mail. I don’t even get distance for when I want some entertainment. I don’t have a television, so I use the internet to watch any shows I want and Netflix to watch any movies. To stay in touch with family and friends, I use Skype more than I use my cell phone. Through Project Gutenberg, I even do a lot of my school reading online. The introduction of my Nook e-reader into my technological stables has led me to spend even more time in front of a screen.

I’m not so young that I don’t remember a time when I spent days without going on the computer. Heck, I remember a time when playing on the computer was a treat. I’m not trying to get nostalgic here, but I am curious as to how the computer has become so ubiquitous within only a few years. Why can’t I just unplug myself from the laptop? Why don’t I spend more time not on the laptop than I do on the laptop?

Has anyone been able to get some distance from their laptop? What are some tips you have for someone like me who is trying to get some space?

Leave a comment

Filed under My Experiences

Leave a Reply

