Surround Yourself with Inspiration


My friend spends most of her day at a desk. In the interest of full disclosure, I am the friend I’m talking about. Anyways, this friend of mine who spends most of her time at her desk sometimes feels like her desk gets depressing, especially because it’s in the living room of her one bedroom apartment. The windows are too high to offer a good view from her seat, and so she used to stare at a white wall when she was trying to brainstorm or take a break from looking at the screen.

Yikes.

So then she bought a cork board. And started putting things on it. A funny postcard, a picture that her little sister drew, a picture of her dog, and ticket stubs slowly started to liven up her space. And she started feeling like the desk space was somehow a special space that could be conducive to doing work. While doing work may not always be fun, an easy way to help improve your attitude is to improve the things you spend all day looking at!

I recommend cork boards because they allow for a lot of creativity. My cork board is framed and has the now pop culture “Keep Calm and Carry On” phrase printed on its surface. I bought a lamp that not only lit up my work space but was interesting to look at. I rearranged some of my plants so that I had a small spider plant to bring some greenery to my work corner. Other people I know hang up art prints or actual pieces of art that they made (right now I’m partial to the melted crayon art, which I think could bring a great explosion of color to any room in need of excitement). People who get the travel bug sometimes put up prints of far-off lands to keep them motivated. If you’re lucky enough to have a desk-height window, take advantage of that!

What are some other tips you have for sprucing up your workspace?

1 Comment

Filed under Improved Learning, My Experiences

One response to “Surround Yourself with Inspiration

  1. Always have to make a desk like home before I can do work there. Good post.

Leave a Reply

