Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day


Parents in general play a huge role in education. From shuttling kids to practices, rehearsals, study sessions, libraries, and other educational activities to painstakingly editing essays and slogging through math problems, parents can be the difference for many children between success and failure. Of course, yesterday is set up to recognize the unique contributions of mothers to the parenting equation.

Support can go both ways when it comes to being a parent and child. (Image Credit:http://grovegals.blogspot.ca/2012_04_01_archive.html)

In my own education, my mom has played a major role. She has been my support system through nearly twenty years of schooling, the person who has pushed me to try new things and go outside my comfort zone, whether it was through studying abroad or going to school hundreds of miles away from home. That, to me, is what makes an outstanding mother: one who pushes you to try new things constantly. When I was in elementary school, my mom went back to school to get her nursing degree. I watched as she balanced being  a mother, having a job, and being a full-time student, and at the time I didn’t really understand the reality of what she was going through. Now, although I still can’t quite grasp the amount of willpower and difficulty involved with doing all those things at once, I have a better idea, and am incredibly grateful. Her strength taught me that I, too, could have strength. The way she valued education taught me to value education.

My mom and I haven’t always had the easiest relationship, and we certainly don’t always agree. In fact, this year has been one of our most difficult, as I struggled through the growing pains of early adulthood and independence and uncertainty and she responded with frustration and exasperation.

However, this year has also given us a lot of opportunities to bond. Whether it was through helping me to decorate my first apartment or reading The Hunger Games and then going to see the film, we’ve spent a lot of time getting to know each other as adults and developing a sort of friendship. So thank you, Mom, for all the ways you’ve influenced my life. Your constant support and love have given me the strength to grow-up in a way that I can be proud of.

What are you most thankful to your mom for?

Leave a comment

Filed under My Experiences

Leave a Reply

