Homemade Summer Popsicles


As a kid, one of the things I remember most about summer is the sudden explosion in homemade foods and drinks. Maybe it was because the garden was in full bloom, and my dad would frequently send my brother and I out to snip some herb or another for dinner, to pick lettuce for a salad, or to check if any tomatoes were ripe. My dad also made iced tea in the sun, which I remember as tasting excessively bland to my childish palate. As the summer is now warming up, however, my mind is definitely heading to the cooler side of food.

My personal favorite is strawberry! (Image Credit:http://www.laaloosh.com/2011/06/20/homemade-strawberry-popsicle-recipe/)

Of course, one of my favorite homemade treats in the summer were homemade popsicles. We had a set of popsicle molds, and my family frequently experimented with different combinations of fruits and fruit juices. For extra creaminess, you can add yogurt (I recommend Greek yogurt). These popsicles are an easy way to get young chefs into the kitchen, and an easy way to experiment. After all, it’s hard to go wrong when it comes to popsicles!

And homemade popsicles are great because you control what goes into them! Want to use all organic ingredients? Go ahead! Want to try and sneak in some veggies for picky eaters? Popsicles can handle it!

So gather up some fresh ingredients and get…freezing? What are some of your favorite homemade popsicle combinations?

Leave a comment

Filed under Improved Learning, Nutrition Education

Leave a Reply

