Changing Perceptions (The 2012 Olympics)


In the past, I’ve been guilty of pre-judging the worthiness of some Olympic events. “Table tennis?” I would crow, incredulously. “Synchronized diving?”

I think I’ve been playing table tennis wrong.

Well, let’s just say that the past few days have totally changed my perceptions. Watching the gold medal match for table tennis was incredible. The speed the ball flew across the table and the sweat dripping down the faces of the athletes suddenly made me realize that I’d been playing table tennis wrong for years, and maybe my gym teachers had a reason for including it as part of the curriculum.

One of the other lessons I’ve learned, then, from the Olympics is that you can’t judge a book by its cover. Or, more aptly, you can’t judge an Olympic event by its title.

Leave a comment

Filed under Learning Events, My Experiences

Leave a Reply

