Make It Fun


There are plenty of things that I don’t enjoy doing in life. Vacuuming, cooking, doing the laundry, and writing essays are the top four pains in my life right now. I dread these tasks with the kind of fervor that most people dread snow, tax season, or hangnails. I put these tasks off until the floors are covered in dust and hairballs, I’ve eaten grilled cheese for four days straight, my laundry hamper is overflowing, and my essay is two weeks overdue.

Alright, so maybe I’m exaggerating, but I definitely HATE these tasks.

Unfortunately, one of the most depressing lessons that growing up teaches you is that you have to get these things done, whether or not you enjoy doing them. To paraphrase Gandalf, with great power comes great responsibility.

So if these tasks have to get done, you just have to change the way you approach them. Rather than dragging my feet to start something for dinner that doesn’t come out of a can or involve two slices of bread and a piece of processed cheese product, I started a cooking blog to try and make light of my kitchen escapades. It’s inspired me to try new recipes and step outside of my comfort zone. I’ve also opened my kitchen up to the other people in my family so that they can help in the process. While I do the laundry, I spend the time in between cycles watching episodes of my favorite TV shows or reading a chapter from a book that’s been gathering dust on my nightstand. With a pair of earbuds in, vacuuming becomes a chance to shake my booty all over the house. To be honest, I still haven’t found a way to make writing fun, but hey, I’m trying.

It’s all about taking ownership of these tasks and not letting them get your mood down. Whenever I put something off I always feel worse about approaching it in the long run, and I spend the time I used procrastinating making myself sick over the impending task.

What are some ways you’ve found to make your most dreaded tasks more fun?

Leave a comment

Filed under Academic Advice, My Experiences, Parenting

Leave a Reply

