Morning Routine: Fail


For all that I’ve advocated in the past for the importance of establishing a morning routine for kids, my own morning routine is only routine in that it has no routine.

Some mornings, I’m up before the alarm goes off. Sometimes I make the bed, sometimes I manage to brush, floss, and use mouthwash, sometimes I eat breakfast sitting down while other times I eat it running between the closet and the bathroom.

Not having a routine for what I have to do in the morning means that it’s difficult to time when I should get up. Ideally, I should be in my car pulling out of the driveway by 7:43. This is the only constant in my routine.

A lot of the time I get up depends on when I go to bed the night before, and maybe my lack of morning routine stems from my lack of bedtime routine. I hit the hay anytime between 11:00 and 12:30, so that hour and a half difference can have a big impact on whether I want to be up at 6:30 or 7:20.

Routines are important, and I’m thinking about trying to get back on track. However, I have to be realistic in my goals. At this point in my life, having a set bedtime isn’t going to work. What I can do is make sure I do the same things in the same order to cue my brain up to the fact that it’s bedtime.

For the morning, however, a routine is not only achievable, but rapidly becoming necessary as the cold weather moves in and I’ll need more time out at the car with the ice scraper. I’m prioritizing the things that I do in the morning and timing out how long they should take so I can decide what my set “rise and shine” time during the week is going to be.

How have you set a bedtime or morning routine for yourself?

Leave a comment

Filed under Test

Leave a Reply

