Remember Today


As parents and teachers it is easy to get caught up in our ‘own little world’ and live too much for tomorrow. I know I certainly have and I always have to remind myself that Life can change in an instant. Today my daughters horse riding instructor spoke about her fiance from college. As she was talking I could see she was getting quite emotional. She is about 50 so I asked what happened and she told me they were in a car accident where an intoxicated man ran head-on into them. She was in the hospital for weeks but her fiance was not so lucky and was DOA. She sadly said she never found another man she’d want to spend her life with. Part of the tragedy of the story was that they were coming back from a celebration dinner he took her to celebrate her overcoming her own drinking problem.

It has now been a month since Sandy Hook and probably a good time to remember how fragile life really is and to appreciate it and those around you. As John Lennon (1980) said  “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans“.  Sir Lennon also said “I’ve always considered my work one piece and I consider that my work won’t be finished until I am dead and buried and I hope that’s a long, long time” Tragically that statement comes from an interview he did with RKO Radio on the day of his murder (8 December 1980).

Below are the lyrics to the song John wrote to his son trying to assure him that he had chased the monsters away. Haunting to me are the lines ‘Every day in every way, It’s getting better and better’. Sad to think he never saw his son that day but was so close to being home. Cool thing is that John made being a stay at home dad acceptable. You Tube has an official video of the song and it runs with a bit of home video of the Ono-Lennon’s on a lake…very touching.

Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)

by John Lennon (1980)

Album: Double Fantasy

Close your eyes,
Have no fear,
The monsters gone,
He’s on the run and your daddy’s here,

Beautiful,
Beautiful, beautiful,
Beautiful Boy,

Before you go to sleep,
Say a little prayer,
Every day in every way,
It’s getting better and better,

Beautiful,
Beautiful, beautiful,
Beautiful Boy,

Out on the ocean sailing away,
I can hardly wait,
To see you to come of age,
But I guess we’ll both,
Just have to be patient,
Yes it’s a long way to go,
But in the meantime,

Before you cross the street,
Take my hand,
Life is just what happens to you,
While your busy making other plans,

Beautiful,
Beautiful, beautiful,
Beautiful Boy,
Darling,
Darling,
Darling Sean

Leave a comment

Filed under My Experiences, Parenting

Leave a Reply

