Learning Event: Asteroid 2012 DA14


nasa+tvSpace will become one of the most important sources of resources for Earth and become vital in our development as a species in the universe. Learning about space is a frontier that growing exponentially day by day as more and more entrepreneurs and private industries begin to make plans and take steps to industrialize space.  Today, Friday, Feb. 15, the asteroid 2012 DA14 will fly extremely close to Earth, but poses no risk of impacting our planet.  This is a great opportunity to help your children and/or students learn a bit more about space and the opportunities it holds for their future. In the USA seeing the asteroid at its closest approach to the earth will not be possible. However, it may be visible to backyard telescopes if you know when and where to look Friday evening.

Discovered last year, asteroid 2012 DA14 is about half the size of a football field and will approach within 17,200 miles (27,680 kilometers) of Earth when it flies by during its close encounter.

According to Space.com there will be many webcasts that you can watch as asteroid 2012 DA14 flyby online.   Space.com also has some links to surprising Facts About Asteroid 2012 DA14 and a video of the asteroid’s mind-boggling $195 billion worth. Note: NASA will provide a 30-minute webcast on its NASA TV channel beginning at 12 p.m. EST (1700 GMT/9 a.m. PST) and will offer live commentary during asteroid 2012 DA14’s flyby.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Learning Events

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s