Finding Meaning: People Who Take Care


Erie County Home Unit A Red Hallway 3/20/2013

Erie County Home Unit A Red Hallway 3/20/2013

As I mentioned yesterday I had a great opportunity to revisit a load of memories from my formative years. I started that post with the intention of sharing something I found on the wall in the Library conference room at the Erie County Home. This poem, while just on white paper called to me as I wandered in the room. As I read it struck me to the core because it seemed to talk to me directly. I certainly don’t tutor for the pay because it takes hours just to prepare for that one hour I’m with a student. Being a tutor is also not like being on a school districts payroll and yet I can’t think of anything more fulfilling then working one-on-one with an individual and watching the lights turn on.

But before I diverge again here is the poem. I’m sure it was hung there to help keep up the spirits of the workers at the Home. My mother was a Nurses Aid in the facility and there certainly were days she dreaded going into work. There were also the days she came home wanting to crack from what she dealt with in a day, but instead she chose to hold it together and nurture her four little devils at home. Thanks for that Mom!

People Who Take Care

By

Nancy Henry

People who take care of people
get paid less than anybody
people who take care of people
are not worth much
except to people who are
sick, old, helpless, and poor
people who take care of people
are not important to most other people
are not respected by many other people
come and go without much fuss
unless they don’t show up
when needed
people who make more money
tell them what to do
never get shit on their hands
never mop vomit or wipe tears
don’t stand in danger
of having plates thrown at them
sharing every cold
observing agonies
they cannot tell at home
people who take care of people
have a secret
that sees them through the double shift
that moves with them from room to room
that keeps them on the floor
sometimes they fill a hollow
no one else can fill
sometimes through the shit
and blood and tears
they go to a beautiful place, somewhere
those clean important people
have never been.

Where the shifts started and ended for the many of the Nurses Aides. Erie County Home Time Clock B 3/20/2013

Where the shifts started and ended for the many of the Nurses Aides. Erie County Home Time Clock B 3/20/2013

Leave a comment

Filed under My Experiences, Parenting

Leave a Reply

