Sunday Morning Shout Out


faith-at-homeFaith is an odd word to me.  I say that because I come from a scientific, fact-based background.  I’m very much a doubting Thomas and typically need to see something hard and tangible for me to believe it.  I even used to be a very black and white kind of a guy but I’m learning to allow a few shades of grey in there as I get older.  Learning to have faith in someone or something has also been a challenge for me but even that is developing as I learn how to deal with teenage children and civil and education politics.  In the Merriam-Webster dictionary Faith is defined as:

1a : allegiance to duty or a person : loyalty
b (1) : fidelity to one’s promises (2) : sincerity of intentions
2a (1) : belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2) : belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion

b (1) : firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2) : complete trust
3: something that is believed especially with strong conviction; especially : a system of religious beliefs <the Protestant faith>
I actually think a better definition can be found in a reading from the Letter to the Hebrews 11:1-2, 8-19 Faith is described as “the realization of what is hoped for and evidence of things not seen.”
As a parent, Faith in the abilities and decisions of your children is always a challenge for me. As Nemo’s dad in the Disney movie “Finding Nemo” finds out there is no answer to the question of ‘When is the right time to let go of your child?’  All you can do is have faith in what you have taught them and faith in your children’s ability to make it in the world.  Let them define what success and happiness is for them since so much in the world has changed since you were that age.
It is a parents role to be there when needed by a child, and it is also important to trust and believe in your child.  An important step for me in building trust and belief as I continually learn how to be a better parent was learning to have faith in my own abilities. Now that I have that, I find I can be a better parent. What has helped you become a better parent?
Leave a comment

Filed under My Experiences, Parenting

Leave a Reply

