The Spongebob Generation


SpongebobFrom my interactions with families and students it seems that Spongebob Squarepants has taken over as the ‘go-to’ entertainment figure for young children.  There used to be Big Bird then Bert and Ernie, then Elmo but in the last five years all I see kids watching is Spongebob and his cast of non-perfect friends and pet snail. Just yesterday I was at a very religious clients house and the two-year old was watching episodes during the hour I spent with his brother.

Reflecting on this I wonder …

  • How this little yellow sponge is going to help children develop?
  • What is it that makes the show so intriguing for children?
  • Is there an educational value in the show?
  • How different will the Squarepant generation be from the generations that grew up on Sesame Street?

Many studies suggest watching Spongebob has many negative effects on younger children and their development.  I’m having a hard time finding any studies that suggest watching the show has a positive impact on a child.  Perhaps you know of one?  I’m hoping so because it will help me feel a bit better as I watch a couple of episodes.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Health, Improved Learning, Parenting

Leave a Reply

