Sunday Morning Shout Out


This week has left me with a hodge podge of thoughts for a variety of reasons.  Last weekend, a blog at Washington Post.com I enjoyed provided a link for this article.  This combined with thoughts from the girls’ school lockdown drill, followed up with my 10 year-old’s questions about ebola.  It leaves me with my own questions and ruminations about childhood and parenting.  For me, it comes down to the statement, that neither are for the faint of heart.  Neither are for a wussy.

Yes, this is the age of iPod everything. Those who have read my blog posts for awhile know I have personally wrestled with the issue of technology and balance since my children became interested in technology.  The writer from the “Washington Post” offers no real answers for a parent, other than her example of trying to strike a balance for her children.  Technology “ain’t” going nowhere, friends!   And it is not that I am technology adverse.  I just want our children to know its limits alongside its possibilities.  Like the writer in the “Washington Post” article, I so hope they notice the river outside their window and look away from the screen (any screen) when life is there to astound and provide wonder.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Our children had their annual (biannual?) lockdown drill at school this week.  I wonder if parents sadly shook their heads in the 1950’s and 1960’s during air raid drills, chagrined at a world that made such drills a necessity.  With my girls telling me where they practiced hiding in the event of an lockdown, I cringed.  But I could also cry.  Yet I am thankful that our district practices for such awful contingencies, if there ever was a school attack.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Lastly, I write of ebola.  As I type, the first case in New York State was found today, in New York City.  While we have protocol and basic knowledge of the disease, it seems that we just aren’t completely there in being ready for it in this country. —Or perhaps it is my fear as a mother…

Upon following asleep the other night, our oldest peppered me with questions about ebola.  Anxiously, she asked if we were at risk and what the common symptoms are.  Funny, but not funny, she asked if any of her relative had been in Liberia recently.  She wondered at how far Texas was from here.  I tried to answer her as best as I could, but fear I fell short.  I came upon an article that discussed how to answer questions about the illness, when talking to children.  Looking at different, similar articles, this article in the Washington Post seemed to take the best most commonsense, yet comprehensive approach with children.

As I finish writing this, I am left with this final thought.  Sometimes, I wish I didn’t have to go there.  But times they aren’t a changing, they have change!.  Better to be prepared, reflective, and ready as ready can be…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Health, My Experiences, Parenting, School Safety

Leave a Reply

